Neighbor painted me a picture!

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Neighbor painted me a picture!

My neighbor is a regionally known artist. So over time after regaling him with childhood hunting stories of my younger years in Michigan, South Dakota, Colorado, and here he felt moved to paint me a little something. Kinda cool. IMG_2399.JPG

I really like that, thanks for sharing it. What's the canvas size? Do you plan to frame it?

Comment

I'm not an artist but do appreciate those who have talent. Both PigHuntress and my ex-wife are artists.

My large canoe is the most creative piece I've executed. Here's the before and after:

Camo Canoe Before.jpg Camo Canoe closeup.jpg

Comment

FD4E6205-F480-48A2-AA6C-938E0BFFCAD6.jpeg 5D8C0E05-8724-4A4F-BB77-5500FEEBE199.jpeg

I can very much appreciate that Dewman.

In the past I’d been gifted the usual pictures and cheap nicknacks that came from places like Home Interiors. The typical mass produced import stuff with no real soul. I’ve spent the last few years purging them from the man cave and replacing it with decor that has personal meaning or is actual vintage gear. Of note are the two survey maps of our property that we had professionally matted and framed as well as a signed and numbered print from a now deceased local artist. That one I rescued from the garbage, a previous employer left it tacked to a wall in the office of the business he had sold. I stayed on with the new owners for a couple years but during that time they shut the office down to consolidate with another. The print was wrinkled and the edges tattered but the framing guy did an incredible job. I also have a framed and matted copy of my Avatar on canvas that’s about 12x16 that a friend had done for me as a gift.