Top Ad Widget

Collapse

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

I'm still a novice deer hunter as I spent 26 years in the Air Force, mostly overseas and 12 1/2 years with the San Leandro, Ca P

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• I'm still a novice deer hunter as I spent 26 years in the Air Force, mostly overseas and 12 1/2 years with the San Leandro, Ca P

I'm still a novice deer hunter as I spent 26 years in the Air Force, mostly overseas and 12 1/2 years with the San Leandro, Ca Police Dept. I really didn't have much time to do any hunting, but now that I'm retired, I've subscribed to Outdoor Life. I've enjoyed your articles on Deer Hunting, especially the one in your "April 2009" issue about "Deer of the Year". Since I know very little about Deer Antlers, I was wondering how do you measure a Deer's Rack and how do you count the points? Please keep up the good work as I read your magazine from cover to cover every month since I subscribed. Griffith Goheen/Vacaville, Ca

Welcome to the world of hunting and outdoor sporting life, or as I have referred to it for many years, "The Real World" the one unseen by way too many people. There are many websites but some that will help you get your feet wet are http://www.boone-crockett.org/bgRecords/ScoringYourTrophy.asp?area=bgRecords,
    http://www.buckmanager.com/2008/01/14/scoring-white-tailed-deer-using-boone-crockett-method/
    and http://dto.com/pdf/hunting/boonCrockett/wttpsc.pdf

Comment

Bo gave you the anwers on scoring, counting is easy. If it's a whitetail you count total points, ie if it has four on each side= 8 point. Mulies are counted by side, ie if both sides have five it's a 5x5.

Comment

Go to Boone and Crocket on the web.

Comment

Welcome!

Collapse

Welcome to Outdoor Life's Answers section. Here you will find hunting, fishing, and survival tips from the editors of Outdoor Life, as well as recommendations from readers like yourself.