Top Ad Widget

Collapse

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

I am new to whitetail hunting and have a question you experienced hunters can answer. Some of the hunters I go with spray thems

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• I am new to whitetail hunting and have a question you experienced hunters can answer. Some of the hunters I go with spray thems

I am new to whitetail hunting and have a question you experienced hunters can answer. Some of the hunters I go with spray themselves with all kinds of scent blockers and wear scent lock clothing but they pee from their deer stands. They say that's okay as deer cannot smell urine. In my mind I feel that's not a good idea as deer have a great sense of smell. I bring along a bottle just for saving pee in order not to leave scent around my stand. Are they correct about peeing from the stands. As a new comer there actions do not make sense to me.

There is all sorts of anecdotal evidence both ways but if you want to be sure, keep up what you're doing just to be safe. Me, I carry a couple of zip-locks. I agree with your opinion in the matter.

Comment

I have also heard different opinions on this. I do not take a leak near my stand and I am careful where I do.

Comment

Yes there are many views on this topic. Cover scents, scent absorbing clothing, But research has mixed results concerning these. (One company had to retract their advertising statements) I don't pee where I hunt, stay down wind, stay still&quiet. Be willing to be there for many hours. This brings me the most success.

Comment

I have always practiced/thought the same as you....don't pee where you plan to hunt.