Top Ad Widget

Collapse

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

A friend of mine asked me about this and I am relaying it. The entire story is long so I have condensed it down to the essential

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• A friend of mine asked me about this and I am relaying it. The entire story is long so I have condensed it down to the essential

A friend of mine asked me about this and I am relaying it. The entire story is long so I have condensed it down to the essentials. He is going to be traveling through grizzly country. He has a .44 Magnum, I don't know what kind, he didn't tell me. He was asking me what kind of ammo should he load that sucker with just in case he gets on the wrong end of a charging grizzly? I suggested at least 300 gr of something hard hitting. He wants to know the best bullet to use on a charging grizzly. Care to weigh in on this? I have no experience in dealing with bears, and will freely admit that I can only guess and I would rather not. It is more prudent to ask those who have been there.

Buffalo Bore 340gr - 1475fps delivering 1649 ft lbs. I know of nothing better for the 44. Your friend must practice with this ammo his 44 will kick a lot harder and he must be able to hold on target for 1-3 rapid shots. If he can't handle the recoil he should consider a rifle slung on the shoulder most Alaskans in serious bear country carry a rifle rather than pistol.
    He should also do study on bear behavior this will help him stay out of trouble.
    later,
    charlie

Comment

Most of my recommendations have to do with belt-fed weapons systems that require a class-3 license...

Comment

Captain, my friend did not appreciate it when I told him about the Ma Deuce. He mumbled something about being too hard to carry over rough terrain... What's up with that?

Comment

Thank you Charlie, I have referred that info on to him.

Comment