Wasn't thinking ahead

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Wasn't thinking ahead

Putting this here so as not to bury any of the few recent threads.

Back to reloading talk, sort of.

The New York Outdoor News is a biweeky paper that I have a subscription to, they keep up with all the State's political happenings involving NY sportsmen. This week's edition mentioned the possibility of non lead hunting ammo legislation popping up. There's been talk for a few years now but other than the DEC encouraging its use there hasn't been a real push. It's something I should have thought about when i was buying component bullets.

I did pick up some 80gr Hornady GMX's for the .243, they were 2nd's that I found real cheap and bought two 50ct boxes so I can work up loads for them. My FiL also had a box of 150gr GMX bullets I can use for his .308 but I have nothing for the .270, 7mm-08 or .22-250. Short term I'll work with what I have with lead cores but if I find a load I like I don't think I'll do up a large batch as I'd intended. The cheaper stuff will be fine for practice but if the Nosler Partitions I bought are outlawed for hunting I'll be, umm, disappointed.

I've been a fan of Ballistic Tips as well and have a decent inventory of those in factory form for the .270 and 7mm-08. I hate the idea of shooting up premium ammo for the brass but it might come down to that at some point. The other alternative is to sell or barter some of the factory ammo and lead bullets for mono's and brass. Right now I could easily sell what I have for a fair price but a bird in hand...... Problem is components aren't easy to come by and are at a premium when you do find them.

The writing is on the wall and I'll need to deal with it.

Thoughts?

Are you positive it's a done deal? Don't get ahead of yourself just yet. If it does happen, if, there's this guy in southeast Missouri who would be interested in the 7mm-08 ammo. If I seem unsavory, forgive me my friend.

Comment