Top Ad Widget

Collapse

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Deer & Deer Hunting Equipment Guide - 29 yrs.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Deer & Deer Hunting Equipment Guide - 29 yrs.

Ive been buying this annual since 1990. Have kept them all. Those not familiar with this it is a all things deer hunting hot trends. Weapons(bow & gun) archery, clothes, scents, tactics,stands and all the gear & gimmicks that are the Hot rage at the time. It is absolutely fascinating to go back and see where we've been & where we are aiming. Myself, I've stopped about 1998. Where did you stop, if you have, trending and said " I'm good right here."? IMG_1532.JPG
    Last edited by dewman; 07-28-2019, 02:14 PM.

Great question. It seems every year I'm trying at least something new.

Around 1999 I started using a hand-held GPS. Before that it was compass, map, and flagging tape. Then about 7 years ago a wrist mounted GPS. This past season my cellphone with hunting apps became the primary navigation device.

I started with a bolt-action and that was my main during the 90's and early 2000's. About 10 years ago I mixed in a semi-auto and a single-shot on occasion. This past season I had an AR in my hands for most hunts. In archery I started with a recurve but now use a crossbow. In muzzleloaders I started with patched round ball but now use a sabot fired with electric ignition.

Most of my hunting has been on public land. Last season I experimented with joining a lease but was not happy with the results. This coming season I'll go back to public land but will mix in a few days paid at a hunting lodge.

I've also worked through various backpacks, climbing tree stands, ground blind methods, and clothing. Using canoes for getting to hunting property has also been a learning experience.

Maybe when I reach my 70's I'll finally say "I'm good right here."

Comment

Originally posted by PigHunter View Post