Top Ad Widget

Collapse

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

With the high fur prices that are being predicted for this fall and winter, is anyone else planning on doing any trapping this y

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• With the high fur prices that are being predicted for this fall and winter, is anyone else planning on doing any trapping this y

With the high fur prices that are being predicted for this fall and winter, is anyone else planning on doing any trapping this year, and if so what are you going after? I'm thinking about doing a backpack mixed-species line into the middle of a big (by Iowa standards - it's about 1000 acres) chunk of public land not too far from where I live. I've never done anything like that before, always working out of the truck or boat on my previous lines, but it should be fun, if I luck out with the weather and competition.

-I hope so, but currently my daily schedule is extremely unpredictable. There is no way I could be certain that I would be able to check my traps as often as needed.
    -Trapping on public land can be pretty interesting. Instead of just trying to think of where the animals will be, you also need to think about the people(hunters, trappers, hikers, etc.) will be.

Comment

Hi...

All of the written 'indicators' looked very promising. However, that is NOT a gaurantee by any means...!! Keep plugging away, and let us know how you make out.

Comment

Originally posted by JM View Post
        -I hope so, but currently my daily schedule is extremely unpredictable. There is no way I could be certain that I would be able to check my traps as often as needed.
        -Trapping on public land can be pretty interesting. Instead of just trying to think of where the animals will be, you also need to think about the people(hunters, trappers, hikers, etc.) will be.
        Agreed, the people will be the biggest issue.

Comment

In Alabama, the following species are designated as furbearers: