A hunting story

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• A hunting story

I'm feeling a bit pissed and sad today. On one hand, today is the 30-year "anniversary" of my wife and I's first date. We've always remembered this date, for some reason. So, a good day.

On the other hand, just found out last night, that the pheasant hunt with her family that I would have been doing this year for the 29th straight year, is not going to happen, due to concerns about traveling, aging parents, and staying in hotels. I work in healthcare, so...well, it is what it is. Not interested in statistics and opinions. The decision has come down. Maybe I'll do an OHH trip and grab the GSP and go by myself. Not sure yet.

Both of these things made me type this out. I haven't proofed it yet, just typed it out over lunch hour, so it likely has a lot of huh? moments and misspellings, etc. Hope the sentiment comes across though.

Four Good Decisions

I was 22, and felt like I’d won the lottery. I had a girlfriend who had a good family and they didn’t seem to hate me for dating their only daughter.

More to the point, they were pheasant hunters, with the Patriarch and hunting grounds located NW Kansas, which back then was really about as good of bird hunting as you could find anywhere in the States. Everyone would gather at Grandpa Ned’s house the day of the hunt.

Hunting was a well-organized and big affair. If you’ve ever seen the flat expanse of a section-square
    Kansas field, you know how many walkers and blockers and hangers-on you can support.

My girlfriend’s parents had to be nice to me, the non-relative hunters had no reason not to be nice to me, but the grandparents, uncles and aunts kept me under watchful eye. Not in a mean way, but there’s no free lunch in making a good impression the first time you are included in a family hunt.

The first thing I did correctly was showing up with an inexpensive but well-worn
    Winchester 1400 shotgun.