Top Ad Widget

Collapse

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Hello All, I am new to hunting and am looking to buy my first shotgun. What would everyone recommend?? My price range would be no more than $500 and I would like a "do it all" type gun. I will mainly be hunting Deer and Turkey. But may get into other

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Hello All, I am new to hunting and am looking to buy my first shotgun. What would everyone recommend?? My price range would be no more than $500 and I would like a "do it all" type gun. I will mainly be hunting Deer and Turkey. But may get into other

Hello All, I am new to hunting and am looking to buy my first shotgun. What would everyone recommend?? My price range would be no more than $500 and I would like a "do it all" type gun. I will mainly be hunting Deer and Turkey. But may get into other game in the future. Any input would be helpful and thank you all.

Being a Remington fan it pains me to say that right now I would look at the Benelli Supernova pump shotgun. I have used my 870 Wingmaster for years and will continue to but my understanding is that workmanship at Remington has not been good lately. JMO

Comment

Remington 870 (used you can find decent ones for well under $500). Go for a somewhat older gun (like 20 to 30 years old, maybe someone else here can speak up as to exactly the date Remington quality fell off a cliff) and then buy a slug barrel for it to swap out for deer hunting. Lethal combo if you find a gem hiding on the used rack somewhere. May even be able to find an 870 with both barrels as a used package, I've seen it before.

Comment

Mossberg 500 Field and Deer combo. Will come with both a smooth barrel(turkey, squirrels, rabbits, etc.) and a rifled barrel for shooting slugs(deer and other big game). Should be well under your $500 limit(I've seen them for as low as $350), so you could even have money left over to buy a scope to mount onto the rifled barrel for deer hunting.