Top Ad Widget

Collapse

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

I'm a kindof new hunter does anyone have advice?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• I'm a kindof new hunter does anyone have advice?

I'm a kindof new hunter does anyone have advice?

Learn as much as you can before you ever go into the field or woods. Study up on what you will be hunting. Learn all you can about the animal and its habitat. Spend time at the gun range, become a good shot. You do not want to wound an animal. Clean kills are best. Most of all be safe. Know what you are shooting at and what is behind it. Have fun.

Comment

Keep reading and asking questions. You are on the right web site. I've been hunting for more than 30 years and these guys make me feel like a beginner.
      After you've done your research and practice, I think the most important thing is to wait for your shot. If you don't feel 100% confident that you can get a clean kill, don't shoot.
      Also, don't get discouraed. This is not an easy game. That's why people continue to do it for years and years. Just spend as much time in the field as possible and have fun!

Comment

I've hunted my whole life and am still learning. There are no stupid questions and the folks on here will pick up on your lack of experience and be glad to help you out. Don't get to sensitive though, answers are usually short and to the point.

Comment

Make sure you've had a safety course and are proficient with your chosen firearm or archery equuipment. Read the hunting mags and whatever books you can find on the subject (I wouldn't pay too much attention to 95% of the videos out there) and go hunting as often as you can. If you can find an experienced companion, that's great---if not, the game will teach you what you need to know, but it may take a while. Welcome to the club and I hope you get as much out of hunting as we have.

Comment

One other important thing is to know the game laws where you hunt.

Comment