Top Ad Widget

Collapse

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Can you kill turkeys effectively with a 20 gauge?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Can you kill turkeys effectively with a 20 gauge?

Can you kill turkeys effectively with a 20 gauge?

i have killed 2 of my 3 with a 20 gauge. i would not reccomend shooting past 20 yards though. i graduated to 12 gauges for the extra range.

Comment

Eight to nine pellets are required for a clean effective harvest...probably why the turkey chokes and the 3 1/2 loads hve become so common

Comment

Short answer, yes. Long answer, you need to get the turkeys closer and aim very carefully.

Comment

I would like to add that patterning your shotgun with your chosen load is always a good idea.... with a life size target of the "harvest zone" so a 10 ga -- 12 ga -- 20 ga will give you a idea of performance

Comment

Mesarich has it right. Use the twenty within its limitations (range, shot size, etc.) and it will kill turkeys for you. Personally, I don't see why someone would handicap themselves and/or take a chance on crippling a gobbler with a twenty when the twelve does so much better. Good luck.

Comment

Foot-in-mouth again. Of course you might use a twenty for a youngster or someone who is recoil sensitive.

Comment

Absolutely. A 20 gauge prepped for turkeys can cleanly take a gobbler out to about 30 yards. Use 3" shell #6 "heavy shot" type, a turkey choke (there are many good ones available) and spend some range time patterning with different shells to find the best for your chosen gun.
                In my humble opinion some turkey hunters over-gun and are missing out on the finer points of the hunt.
                Have fun out there.
                later,
                charlie

Comment