Top Ad Widget

Collapse

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Do all encounters with a Alaskan brown bear that knows you are there result in a charge?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Do all encounters with a Alaskan brown bear that knows you are there result in a charge?

Do all encounters with a Alaskan brown bear that knows you are there result in a charge?

Of course not. I have no first-hand experience with brown bears, but I do know that absolutes (always, never, all, none, etc.) are very, very rare in nature.

Comment

What per cent of the time would an encounter with a brown bear result in a charge vs. the bear walking away.

Added:

How would this same question relate to moose?

Comment

I poked around the Alaska Fish & Game and DNR websites but couldn't find specific statistics relating encounters to attacks. For what it's worth, both websites indicated that attacks are "rare". Here's an interesting quote from the DNR website "You are allowed to carry a gun for protection in state parks. Remember, though, that more people are hurt by the guns they carry than are hurt by bears"

Comment

Hi...

No, they don't always result in a charge...they are just as apt to run away as not...!!

Some bears will effect a 'fake' charge, and if so that is the time to slowly move away...!!

They may often pay no attention to human sounds...but if you break a twig nearby...they will go to instant alert...!!

Whether or not you will be carrying a gun...make sure you carry EPA Registered bear spray...which is VERY effective when used correctly..!!

Comment

Hi...!!

I don't think there's any statistics on the per cent of the instanced that a brown bear will charge...but probably fewer times than not...!!

For additional information from Alaska's foremost bear biologist...Mr. Tom Smith...just google him and you'll find a wealth of valuable bear information there...!!

Comment