Top Ad Widget

Collapse

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

I'm a huge fan of Hogue pistol grips. I heard they make overmolded rifle stocks to replace old ones, which is exactly what I did

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• I'm a huge fan of Hogue pistol grips. I heard they make overmolded rifle stocks to replace old ones, which is exactly what I did

I'm a huge fan of Hogue pistol grips. I heard they make overmolded rifle stocks to replace old ones, which is exactly what I did. I'm still awaiting for it to come in. Few questions. Do I need to loc-tite the barrel screw that joins the stock to the barrel? Is changing this stock gonna affect accuracy to the point that I need to completely re-zero my scope? These and any other information is greatly appreciated. Hope everyone is enjoying the summer. So far, too hot for me.

not like your accuracy can get much worse! might as well duck tape and super glue her on!

Comment

I'm not an expert on this subject, so keep that in mind, but I felt I had to add something to the conversation to offset kkok's stupid drivel.
      I've never completely replaced a rifle stock, but I've taken them off and on to clean the guns before, and in my experience, you don't need to Loc-Tite the barrel screw, just screw it down nice and tight, and it should hold fine, unless you're shooting a very hard-kicking gun. But it wouldn't hurt to Loc-Tite the screw, if it'd make you feel better.
      I don't think the new stock will have a huge impact on accuracy, but it will probably shift it a bit - probably a few inches at 100 yards, so you will have to shoot it after putting the new stock on.
      We haven't had too much heat in my part of the country, but we've had WAY too much rain - we just got 3.6 inches last night and this morning, so all the creeks are flooded.

Comment