Top Ad Widget

Collapse

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

I am new to rifle hunting and a friend of mine told me that I could bring down an elk with a 30:30. I had mentioned to him that

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• I am new to rifle hunting and a friend of mine told me that I could bring down an elk with a 30:30. I had mentioned to him that

I am new to rifle hunting and a friend of mine told me that I could bring down an elk with a 30:30. I had mentioned to him that I was gonna get one for deer hunting and was wandering if it is true. that you could in fact bring down an elk with a 30:30.

Your question is more hypothetical. The answer is yes, you can kill an elk with a 30:30. You can "reasonably" kill anything with any caliber. I'm not talking elephant with 17 HMR. In an emergency, a firearm is better than a rock. Would an experienced hunter use a 30:30 for an elk hunt?
    NO. Distance, power, trajectory must be taken into consideration: along with the terrain and weather conditions.

Comment

yes you can easily take down an elk witha 30-30 but only under good circumstances range the shot placement will greatly affect this but with a good shot and the distance being around 100 yards i would not be afraid to shoot an elk

Comment

With the factory 170 grain bullet, the 30-30 would be a borderline cartridge for elk at close range. I would not choose the 30-30 for elk hunting, but if I were hunting deer with a 30-30, and a standing broadside shot at an elk presented itself at 50 yards or so, I would not hesitate to shoot.

Personally, I would prefer a more powerful caliber such as the .270 Win., .280 Rem., or .30/06 for elk hunting. I don't care much for the newer short magnum calibers.

Comment

The 25-06 is the smallest cartridge recommended for Elk and the 30-30 fits in fine!

Comment