Top Ad Widget

Collapse

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Does caliber / cartridge determine what a barrel length should be ?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Does caliber / cartridge determine what a barrel length should be ?

Some are short, some are long. Does caliber guide barrel length ? Yes, size does matter.

I'm no expert, but from what I've read and understand, yes.
    NOW, does each caliber have a distinctive barrel length to achieve optimal performance?
    I dunno?
    As I understand it, the 6.8mm Rem SPC II is designed around a 16" barrel. Anything longer showed no significant, worthwhile gain.

Comment

More than the caliber or cartridge is the load. So something like an AR / M16 is optimized to a cartridge because the military is likely only going to ever use 1 cartridge type for the vast majority of guys.

It's been a while since I've thought about it, but you can optimize the barrel length for optimal speed, optimal efficiency, weight, or probably other factors, or try a combination of factors. However, it's going to make a difference depending upon how fast your powder is burning, how much powder you used, and the projectile you're pushing.

Bubba used the 6.8spc as an example, and it's a good one because it's designed for barrels between 12" and 20" what's interesting is on average there's only something like 50fps gain between 16" (standard length) and 18", but then you have an extra 2" of steel hanging out there and the weight etc.

In my last picture, you'll see that there are local maxima and minima that the kid for USF with his Mosin, didn't pick up. Even with 2in increments he wasn't able to pick up some of the nuances involved and his data trended linearly. So yeah, you might what to run calculations for where the bullet's max velocity should be with powder load, or the point where it's increasing velocity at a decreasing rate, vs increasing velocity at an increasing rate. etc.

Comment