Top Ad Widget

Collapse

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

I've been catching trout on a regular basis for thirty years or so. One of the things I've never been able to figure out is why so many trout can hit a spinner or spoon and not get hooked. I keep my hook points needle-sharp, and the fish are defin

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• I've been catching trout on a regular basis for thirty years or so. One of the things I've never been able to figure out is why so many trout can hit a spinner or spoon and not get hooked. I keep my hook points needle-sharp, and the fish are defin

I've been catching trout on a regular basis for thirty years or so. One of the things I've never been able to figure out is why so many trout can hit a spinner or spoon and not get hooked. I keep my hook points needle-sharp, and the fish are definitely biting the lure, as the thump I feel is substantial. I know it's a fish and not a snag because I see the fish flash and turn behind the lure. Sometimes, in a long pool or run, I'll see a small brookie or brown following the spinner and rushing forward here and there to hit it -- but again, no hook-up. Do you think they're just tapping it somehow and not actually biting it? Do you think it has something to do with the size or shape of their mouths? And now that I think of it, this seems to happen more in the summertime, when the water is low and clear. Last evening, in one pool, I had about a dozen hits and hooked only three fish; I felt and saw all of the others, but no hook-ups. And as I said, my hooks are never dull. I feel like a total amateur asking this, but I don't care, as my pride doesn't run in those directions. It's always interested me, especially since it doesn't seem to happen with other species of fish. What do you think?

I should also mention that I use only the smallest of spinners and spoons, with very small hooks.

Comment